Skip to main content

New Year Honours List 2024

01 January 2024   /   News & reports
Tevita Funaki, MNZM & Monica Briggs MNZM

We are excited to learn that the New Year Honours List 2024 has cited one of our current Trustees and a former member of staff in recognition of their contributions to Pacific health, and women and governance respectively.

Tevita Funaki - Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit  For services to Pacific health

Deeply connected and committed to Pacific communities across Auckland, Tevita has been on the Board of Foundation North since August 2021, and has been CEO of The Fono Trust since 2010.

Under Tevita’s leadership, The Fono has been transformed from a primary health practice in Henderson with 30 staff and some limited public health contracts to the largest Pacific community-owned organisation with more than 150 staff, offering primary, oral and public health, social services and training and employment services. He is also Chairperson of the Ministry for Social Development Pacific Steering Group, Oceania Career Academy, and ProCare Health (PHO).

During the COVID-19 pandemic, he led The Fono to set up drive-through testing, triage and vaccination marquees at clinics and in the community, and the distribution of more than 3,000 support packages from Waiuku to Warkworth. He has promoted getting tested and vaccinated, addressed misinformation and set up vaccination events to help the Pacific community reach the 90 percent vaccination target.

Monica Briggs - Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit  For services to women and governance

Monica has contributed to the health and charity sectors, focused on empowerment and social justice, for 20 years and was Head of Centre for our Centre for Social Impact (CSI) from 2019 until 2021. At CSI, Monica spearheaded the Centre’s key contribution to the development of the National Action Plan for Community Governance. Community Governance Aotearoa is now a charitable Trust established to deliver on the National Action Plan to embed best-practice governance at every not-for-profit board table.

In April 2021, Monica became the Chief Executive of the Child Cancer Foundation and has been supporting whānau advocating on Pharmac’s Rule 8.1B, regarding the potential to change accessibility for paediatric cancer medicines.

We are also delighted to see founders and leaders from organisations the Foundation supports among the recipients, including:

Jo-anne Wilkinson - Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit  For services to youth

Jo-anne has supported youth with her husband Sir Graeme Dingle through the Graeme Dingle Foundation, established in 1995 to give young people purpose, a positive outlook and tools to self-determine. She was instrumental in developing and securing the Foundation’s programmes; KiwiCan, Stars, Career Navigator, Project K, Kiwi Tahi and MYND.

Naomi Manu - Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit  For services to STEM education and Māori

Naomi (Rangitāne, Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Raukawa ki te Tonga) has led New Zealand’s efforts to encourage Māori students to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). She founded Pūhoro STEMM Academy in 2015 while working at Massey University.

Rowena Tana – Queen’s Service Medal  For Services to the Māori community 

Rowena (Ngāti Hine, Ngāti Manu, Te Kapotai, Ngāti Kawa, Te Orewai, Ngāti Te Ara, Ngāpuhi) joined the Ngāti Hine Health Trust Board in 2017 and became its Chair in 2021. Ngāti Hine Health Trust has served the community for many years and is a major employer delivering high quality health and disability, social, educational, youth, housing and broadcasting services from Kawakawa, Whangārei and throughout the North of New Zealand. 

For the full published list go here